Offensive?

So I’m sitting here in the office writing a sermon for Sunday.

I have been doing a series at our college Devo every Tuesday on the hard sayings of Jesus…a lot of the material comes from the Sermon on the Mount.

In Bible college, I never heard the words abrasive, harsh, brutal, offensive, or astringent used to describe the Sermon on the Mount…mostly because all people ever focus on are the “Beatitudes,” which are great and awesome, but there is so much more to this message.

As I read it, I can’t help but feel that if I were a 1st century Jew, I would have been greatly angered and offended at the Sermon on the Mount. It literally raised the bar on righteousness…and I think it shows people one critical point – you can’t live like this on your own…you need to have God’s righteousness to even begin to start living these passages of Scripture.

The verse I’m focusing on is, “For I tell you that unless your righteousness surpasses that of the Pharisees and the teachers of the law, you will certainly not enter the kingdom of heaven.”
(Mat 5:20 NIV)

I think there is a great message here…but I’ll let God work it out and I’ll tell you about it later…leave thoughts.

Leave a Reply

