Humbled By Holiness

So I’m reading through the Book of Isaiah.  I think this book is mind-blowing.  I love to read it…very encouraging and humbling.

So I was reading Chapter 6, and though I have read it many, many times, I think that I have always missed the point that Isaiah (really, God through Isaiah) was trying to get across.

In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord seated on a throne, high and exalted, and the train of his robe filled the temple. Above him were seraphs, each with six wings: With two wings they covered their faces, with two they covered their feet, and with two they were flying. And they were calling to one another: “Holy, holy, holy is the LORD Almighty; the whole earth is full of his glory.” At the sound of their voices the doorposts and thresholds shook and the temple was filled with smoke. Woe to me! I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the LORD Almighty.”
(Isa 6:1-5 NIV)

In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord seated on a throne, high and exalted, and the train of his robe filled the temple. Above him were seraphs, each with six wings: With two wings they covered their faces, with two they covered their feet, and with two they were flying. And they were calling to one another: “Holy, holy, holy is the LORD Almighty; the whole earth is full of his glory.” At the sound of their voices the doorposts and thresholds shook and the temple was filled with smoke. Woe to me! I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the LORD Almighty.”

(Isa 6:1-5 NIV)

Isaiah is in the Temple and catches a glimpse of the LORD Almighty seated on His throne.  The language Isaiah uses here is just incredible…i really think Isaiah did his best to put what he saw into human terms… I’ve no doubt that what he saw was way more incredible than he could logically verbalize.
Then throw in the seraphs (angels) that have 3 pairs of wings flying around and they are singing “Holy, Holy, Holy is the Lord Almighty, the whole earth is filled with His glory.”
So what’s Isaiah’s response?  Was it shouting for joy?  Was it amazement? No- It was repentance.
Isaiah says, “Woe to me! I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the LORD Almighty”
I think the point here is that when we stop to think about the sheer holiness, power, magnitude, and infinite glory of God we will feel tiny and dirty.
When faced with the holiness of God we are forced to realize that we are truly nothing – that we have nothing, and that we are not able to stand.
The sooner I realize that I can bring nothing to the table that makes God any more “Godly” or any more fulfilled the sooner I can get on with the business of being humbled. I brought nothing into this world and I can take nothing out.
As James says, “…You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes” (4:14)
And “From dust you are created, and to dust you will return” (Genesis 3:19)
This 60-80 year lifespan that most of us are on this earth isn’t long…and when faced with the holiness of God…it’s incredibly tiny.   Give God the glory.
Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time” (1 Peter 5:6, NIV).
Just something to think about.

Leave a Reply

