Fearfully and Wonderfully Made

Most people, unless you’re a garden gnome (and no-one wants to be one of those), question why they’re here.  What do I mean by “here?”  I mean alive – living, and breathing…why do you get up?  That sort of thing.

It’s a question that causes our hearts to soar, or our souls to crash…its’ the most basic of all questions and the basis of all philosophy and man’s search for meaning.

Most of us, at some point or another, wonder why we’re here.  That leads us to the questions,  “Am I Worth Something?”or “Does Somebody Love Me?”  These are the questions that define who we are.  We’ll call these “basic human needs.”  These are questions that need to be answered.

So much time and money is spent (and wasted, in some cases) in our pursuit to find who we are and why we’re here.  College and/or the post-college years are those where we define these questions and make decisions for them.

So what if you don’t know?  Good question…

Check this out:

If I say, “Surely the darkness shall cover me, and the light about me be night,” even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is bright as the day, for darkness is as light with you. For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them. How precious to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast is the sum of them! If I would count them, they are more than the sand. I awake, and I am still with you.
(Psa 139:11-18 ESV)

“For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them. “
~Psalm   139:13-16 (ESV)

This passage blows my mind right out the back of my skull.  To me, it is incredible.  To me, it answers those fundamental questions of value, love, and purpose.

It also shows an intimate and personal Creator who intricately weaves and creates every fiber of my being – A God who knew me, knew all about me, and who determined my life and death all before I was even thought of!

Forget about your old grandpa sitting on a throne God.  Forget about the “RuleKeeper” God whose just waiting to drop you into Hell.  That’s all WRONG!

So many people misconstrue, misrepresent and misinform about who God is.

So what’s our purpose?  God created me (and you) in His image (Genesis 1:26) and for His purpose (Romans 8:28).  He created us by Hand and every cell, every fiber of our being is woven and knit together by Him.

So what am I worth? I’m worth EVERYTHING to God:

For God so loved the world (that means YOU), that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through him. Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe is condemned already, because he has not believed in the name of the only Son of God.”                                                                                                                                                           ~John 3:16-18

For there is one God, and there is one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus, who gave himself as a ransom for all, which is the testimony given at the proper time.”
~1Timothy 2:5-6
Notice that word “ransom.”  This is a friggin’ sweet word in the Greek. It means “To buy back.” IT means that God literally paid your debt on the Cross with Jesus Christ because He loved you that much!  We can’t even fathom this kind of love.
And you, who were dead in your trespasses and the uncircumcision of your flesh, God made alive together with him, having forgiven us all our trespasses, by canceling the record of debt that stood against us with its legal demands. This he set aside, nailing it to the cross.
~Colossians 2:13-14 ESV
So Are You Valuable?  Yes!  The most incredible kind of value there ever was or ever will be! God went to extreme lengths to buy you back and give you the opportunity to restore a relationship with Him.
Are you loved?  YES!  The most crazy,incredible, scandalous love there ever was, is, and ever will be!
…but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”
~Romans 5:8
Do you have a purpose?  YES!
“And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.”
~Romans 8:28 ESV
God created YOU with a purpose in mind!  Just remember, there’s so much more to life than living and dying.

Leave a Reply

