Trusting God

As most of you already know, Kristy and I are expecting our first child.  This is the most amazing news I’ve ever received…I am on cloud-nine!  I can’t quit thinking about it.  Sometimes for me, however, that’s a bad thing.

I’m really learning to trust in God this week.  There is so much running through my mind right now  – good and bad.  What will the baby look like? What will the baby call me?  Will I be a good father?  Will there be and complications? Will we have enough to take care of the baby?  Will it be healthy?  It becomes overwhelming at times. There is a Scripture that comes to mind, however, that flies in the face of my doubts:

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;  (6)  in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.  (7)  Do not be wise in your own eyes; fear the LORD and shun evil.  (8)  This will bring health to your body and nourishment to your bones” (Proverbs 3:5-8).

This is the Scripture that tells me to “trust in the Lord always.”  What does that mean, anyway?  This word “trust” the Hebrew word that literally means “to be sure of; to place total confidence in.”  I have to stop and check myself when I read through this.  I have to ask myself, “Do your really trust God, Scott?”  and I can say, mostly yes…but there is still a little doubt in my mind sometimes.  This is a deep passage of Scripture that helps right-size me, but more importantly, to right-size God.

I have to accept that there are things in life that are completely beyond my control.  There are things that I cannot change, and circumstances that I cannot get around.  The beauty of this Scripture, is found in that I, while I may try my hardest to understand a lot of things, I will not be able to understand all of them…or even the hem of the garment.  I have to remember that God is intricately  and personally involved in every aspect of His creation and that, “The secret things belong to the LORD our God” (Deut. 29:9).

Trusting God when you don’t know all the facts, all the variables, all the answers is tough—but I do know one thing:  That God takes care of His children and He knows what’s best.  Trusting God helps me to see that in the grand scheme of things, I can’t do too much to control it…but I can know the One who can and is.  This is the God who created the universe with the breath of His mouth, and who holds the cosmos in the palm of His hand.  Knowing just that brings me reassurance that if God can create and sustain the entire scope of the universe every second of every minute of every day, then He is certainly capable, qualifies, and worthy of my trust, worship, and adoration.

Sometimes you just have to trust.  I’m not trying to simplify and under-appreciate that, but that’s really what it is.  I can’t know what the future holds, but I can know Him who holds it in His hand.  I know that Romans 8:28 is a fact:  “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” I can trust that this is the very truth of God and that’s enough for me…even in the midst of my doubts, fears, and questions.  So this week, take time to evaluate your relationship with God and find those areas where you need to trust more.  Let go…at first it feels like everything is out of your control and then you realize that it is…and man, does it feel good to be out of control.  Just something to think about.

Leave a Reply

