There Will Be a Day

There is a song out (well, it’s been out quite awhile now) by Jeremy Camp called “There will Be a Day.” The premise about this song is that one day, God will triumph, despite the horrible things in the world today, problems that we have in our lives, and the sorrows the world brings on us.  Let’s be honest, we don’t live in a very happy place.  The saddest thing to know is this:  it was never intended to be that way.

Ever since Adam and Eve took the bite of the fruit of the Tree of the Knowledge of Good and Evil (Gen. 3) we have wrought on this creation sin, evil, and suffering—but those aren’t even the worst thing:  that day, mankind, God’s crowning jewel of Creation,, broke their relationship with the One who created them deciding to go their own way and do their own thing…forgetting the very one who knit them together (Ps. 139:13).

In my short lifetime I have seen some insurmountable suffering:  the Oklahoma City Bombing, Columbine, 9/11, the genocide in Rwanda in 1994, the current genocide in Darfur, Sudan, terrorism, Hurricane Katrina, the Tsunamis of 2006, the recent earthquakes of Chile and Haiti…do you need me to continue? That’s not even beginning to count the number of personal crises we experience individually on a daily basis.  My point is this.  Sometimes we lose track of who God is through all the tragedy. We begin to buy into the lie that evil is winning, that it will triumph, and that we will succumb to it one day.

That’s exactly what Satan wants us to think.  Why do you think the most asked question I get on campus is “why would a loving God allow…?” I have to be honest and readily admit that I have no idea.  I don’t understand God’s decisions sometimes…and sometimes I don’t like them…but I do know that God is good, and that He knows things that I could never understand.  He sees the whole photo album where I only get to see a snapshot. I take God at His word when He says, through Paul, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”  I have to trust that—if I don’t then I lose hope, and hope is what makes everything endurable.

“Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and there was no longer any sea. 2I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband. 3And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Now the dwelling of God is with men, and he will live with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.”5He who was seated on the throne said, “I am making everything new!” Then he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true” (Revelation 21:1-5).

Church—the devil may look like He’s winning.  We may get discouraged and beat down…but we need to keep our hope.  That hope that shouts through the darkness and in spite of evil says, “There will be a day…”  I want to be there when all evil is stomped out.  I want to be in the presence of God.  I want to hold on because I know that my Deliverer is coming, and when He does, He will make all things right.

Remember, just because things look bad it doesn’t mean it will end bad.  Remember, “We live by faith, not by sight” (2 Cor. 5:7). So even when it looks really bleak, know that God is still sitting on the throne, He still is Sovereign, and He’s still got the whole universe in His hands.  There will be a day….

Leave a Reply

