Normally Extrodinary

Do you ever think about just how truly incredible you are? Not in a prideful way or in saying that you’re the greatest thing that ever hit soil with toes. No – I’m talking about how incredible you, as a human being, as a person, as a soul are. How precious and fragile you are?

Did you know that every three seconds over fifty thousand cells die and are replaced in your body? Did you ever stop and think that you’re body actually heals itself? It’s constantly fighting off infections and processing sugar and oxygen and other things to such a precise degree that if any of it were off, you’d die? Or did you know that your lungs contain over three hundred million capillaries (blood vessels) that if laid end to end would cover over 1,500 miles? Did you know Human bone is as strong as granite in supporting weight. A block of bone the size of a matchbox can support 9 tons – that is four times as much as concrete can support.

When we read the Bible we can see that we have an extremely special place in Creation. When man and woman were finished on the sixth day God said “It is very good” (Gen. 1:31). We also differ from the rest of creation in this—we have a soul. Nobody really knows what a soul is, but God gave it to people. He chose to make us special—different from anything else in the world! How incredible!

Have you ever felt that you don’t matter? That life isn’t really worth living? What about that creeping thought that we all have that we’re not worth anything or valuable? Let me share with you some Scripture that will take those ideas and kick them out the door.

“For you created my inmost being;    you knit me together in my mother’s womb. 14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. 15 My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. 16 Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be”
(Ps. 139:13-16).

Think about that. Wrap your brain around this concept: God hand-crafted you. He “knit” you together. In the Hebrew that means that God knit and interwoven all of you together into one seamless, amazing person. The word also has to do with the idea that not only did God has such an intimate and personal hand in your individual creation, He also protects you before you even breathe your first breath!

What about this one:

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart” (Jer. 29:11-12).

Not only does God personally hand-craft you, but He did it for a reason! He did it that you would seek Him and find Him, that you would leave this life of pain and hurt and step into true life. Jesus says, “I have come to give life and give it in full” (John 10:10). And Jesus came, and He died, and He suffered for you—for me. Not just to save us from Hell, but to bring us back to our original design: to worship and walk with God all the days of our life and beyond.

Jesus died that we could live. You will do well to get that concept now. He came and He loved, and He taught us to love so that we could enter into this intimate relationship that has been severed by us through our sin. He tore down the “dividing wall of hostility”, as Paul writes in Ephesians 2:14, and “by setting aside in his flesh the law with its commands and regulations. His purpose was to create in himself one new humanity out of the two, thus making peace “ (2:15).

Next time you think you don’t matter or aren’t valuable…think again. You are amazing. God made you that way. Embrace it—seek Him and find Him, let Him show you life as it was meant to be lived: with Him. Just something to think about. – Scott

Leave a Reply

