Thank you!

Wow!  My last bulletin article.  I have so much to say and a very limited space to say it in. I guess the main thing I want to say to you all is this: “Thank you!”  Thank you for this incredible experience serving as your Campus Minister over the past four and a half years. Thank you for all the love we’ve received, all the blessings you’ve given, and all the support you’ve shown Kristy and me.

As I said when I addressed the congregation a month ago, it is very easy to say “Yes!” to God, but it is heart-wrenching to say, “Goodbye” to all of you.  You are our family.  We’ve shared ups and downs, sad times and happy times. We had many meals together.  The support you have shown for the Campus Ministry is amazing. It would not be where it is today without you—each and every one of you.

All of you have a special place in our hearts, and as we say goodbye today, we want you to know how special you are.  You’ve seen my flaws, my faults, and my failures…but you’ve still loved me anyways. That means more to me than you will ever know.  I have learned so much here, grown so much here.  I know I’m nowhere near where I need to be, but I know who’s hands I’m in, and I know He is faithful to get Kristy and me there. I also know the road ahead is difficult and will test us, but I know God is strong and He will provide.

As we leave today, remember, I’m not moving to California or anything!  I’m still in the area, and just because we leave here, that doesn’t mean we leave our friendships.  This body, the Clifton Church of Christ, is an incredible place.  There is so much love, so much selflessness, and so much grace here.  There is so much support, it is a body of prayer, and it is a place that you all have made so special in our hearts. Again, thank you!

As we go, I want to leave you with a final challenge.  I won’t be here to see if you do it or not, so I will trust you on the Honor’s System.  I want to challenge you to never settle for less than God’s best.  Don’t get sucked down into the miry pit of “religion.”  What do I mean by that?  Don’t put traditions over love; don’t step on people to look holy.  Give freely, share with the poor, love the broken, and embrace your frailness as a human being. Don’t void the word of God by traditions.  Don’t get so caught up in the “how’s” that you forget the “why’s.”  Understand I’m not saying you do these things, but I am exhorting you to remember why we do what we do—all because of Jesus Christ.

I pray that you will grow, and love will increase exponentially.  God is not done working here, church!  The Campus Ministry is still here, and I am confident it is in good hands. I am still fighting for this place in prayer! My only regret is that I didn’t do more, but I know that all things happen for a reason.  God will bless this body, and I can’t wait to see what He does through it!  It’s going to be BIG!

The last thing I want you to know is this:  I am proud to have been a part of this place.  I’m proud of this congregation. I’m proud of each and every one of you!  The impact you have left in my hearts will go on to encourage me in the days and years to come.  I will boast in this congregation!  I will cherish my time here.  I will always be in prayer and in contact to see how my “family” is doing! I am so proud of you all, church!

I can honestly say that this is the hardest thing I’ve done in my life, thus far.  To leave such an amazing group of people is no easy task.  However, God has called me elsewhere, and called me to a different role at the Crosspointe Church of Christ.  As I begin my role as the new Minister there, I will treasure the lessons and experience from here. Let’s face it – you’ve had to endure some pretty horrible sermons from me – now its time for someone else to share the load!  I would not be equipped for such a role in the Kingdom had you not taken me in and encouraged me to follow harder after God.  Your knowledge of the Word is amazing, but don’t let knowledge block out love!  Love trumps everything, even faith, church.  Remember, in Christ, there are no goodbyes.  We will meet again—if not on this side of Heaven, than around the throne of God. Again, thank you so much, thank you for everything!  Kristy and I love you all.        – Scott and Kristy Johnson

Leave a Reply

