Politics, Chicken, and God’s Reign

It’s been awhile! I haven’t felt particularly “inspired” to write anything over the past few months. God has been good to my wife and I and after a long, scorching summer, a trip to Arkansas to a Campus Ministry conference and some other craziness things are kind of winding back to “normal mode.”

Now to get down to brass tacks. Unless you live in a hole you know that Chick-Fil-A COO Dan Cathy made a statement on his opinion on same-sex marriage.Cathy said: ” “We are very much supportive of the family — the biblical definition of the family unit. We are a family-owned business, a family-led business, and we are married to our first wives. We give God thanks for that.”

Of course every politician and activist this side of D.C. jumped immediately on some kind of rickety band-wagon either for or against Cathy’s comments igniting what drama queen media journalists are calling a “culture war.” As I sit back and watch my Facebook News-feed refresh, the level of vicious, venial, and passionate responses from both sides saddens me.

I do agree with the biblical definition of marriage. I also agree with people having the right to voice their opinions no matter how different they are.  However what I am seeing from my brothers and sisters across the globe is rather, for a lack of a better term, unbelievable. The hate that is coming out of the mouth of people who profess Jesus Christ as their Lord and then deny Him with their words…it’s truly sad.  I am by no means exempt from the throngs of people who lash out at a world that doesn’t agree with what God has spoken.  I am probably the “chief of sinners” in this area.

I feel that God’s people have forgotten something so very important to our life in Christ:  the world isn’t our home.  We’re here for just a wrinkle in time; a vapor, a mist, a millisecond of eternity.  We have forgotten that and we’ve become entrenched in this world and it’s affairs.  We have forgotten where we’re going.  We’ve traded the title of “Pilgrim” in for “Political Enthusiast.” We are working our hardest to establish our kingdom here; building up our preferences and policies based on us all the while forgetting that this world is passing away (1 Cor. 7:31).  It won’t last.  All the political grand-standing in the world won’t change that.

We’ve bought into the lie that God somehow is going to use a specific political personality, party, or organization to change everything all the while forgetting that God isn’t subject to the politics and governments of this planet.  Jesus isn’t the poster by for your political party and He never will be – stop trying to pull Him into it. I’m sure God would rather see the world run in different ways – but the beautiful thing about God is that He can work with anything, any situation, any time and any where! He doesn’t need you and I out there bullying people to “think our way or else.”

Jesus didn’t die for us to squabble about this, that or the other.  He didn’t die to set up an earthly kingdom.  In fact, that’s why a lot of people didn’t believe He was who He said He was – they were waiting for some Politically enthralled military commander to come save Israel from the grip of Roman subjugation. He was even asked the day He was crucified about His political affiliations, by a political official He said this:

35 “Am I a Jew?” Pilate replied. “It was your people and your chief priests who handed you over to me. What is it you have done?”36 Jesus said, “My kingdom is not of this world. If it were, my servants would fight to prevent my arrest by the Jews. But now my kingdom is from another place.”37 “You are a king, then!” said Pilate.Jesus answered, “You are right in saying I am a king. In fact, for this reason I was born, and for this I came into the world, to testify to the truth. Everyone on the side of truth listens to me.” (John 18:35-37, NIV) 

It doesn’t get any more clear than that.  We aren’t called to wage war for Jesus in the political arena.  We’re not called to run a smear campaign against opposing viewpoints.  God is the one on the throne; not democrats and not republicans.  We’re not here to complain and gripe when our rights our stripped away.  Jesus didn’t die to preserve the Constitution of the USA or the Bill of Rights…He died to solve a bigger problem: our sin and that’ something we’re all guilty of.  Sure standing up for what you believe in is great!  There are times when we do things that aren’t in line with the “powers that be,” but we do it out of love for God and respectfully towards our fellow man.

Remember this:  When you become a Christian you are renouncing any rights you had. Remember when Jesus said:

Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.25 For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will find it.  (Matt. 16:24-25)

Yeah…Jesus wasn’t kidding. You are coming under the Sovereignty and Lordship of Jesus Christ and the Kingdom of God which is NOT of this world. You give yourself away because God was stripped of all His rights when He was murdered for you on the cross.  When you become a Christian you actually renounce your hopes, dreams, ambitions, political ideologies…and you slay them on the altar of selfishness because when your in Jesus…those things don’t even matter…what matters loving God and loving others; that simple.

I pray that God will have mercy on us for thinking we can “rule the world” in His name when He came to restore the world for His glory through sacrifice, rebirth, and a revolution not waged with bullets, bombs, tanks, evil words, or slanderous accusations, but a revolution waged with unconditional love…even for those who don’t agree with you.

Just something to think about.

Scott

3 thoughts on “Politics, Chicken, and God’s Reign

  1. I agree with all that you said. But I will still eat some fries at Chic-Fil-A…LOL

    No really. While I do agree with you and really enjoyed reading this, I do see that Christian values are under attack and believe as Christians were are expected to “Take our stand” and fight the evil one for Christ. I just think that stance should mostly be on our knees praying for our enemies. But still…I do like their fries.

    Like

Leave a Reply

