6 Really Dumb Reasons to Skip Church (Especially Sunday and Wednesday Nights)

8fdbcc93b292e9d7768985c7d09306b2 (1)Welcome to America!  The land of the free and the home of the “I do whatever I want.”

I’ve been in ministry now for over ten years of my life, and I have to admit, I get rather perturbed when people skip church services or Bible study for really dumb reasons.  I’ll present my top 6 of really horrible excuses to miss church.  

This will probably offend you, but this is me just being real.

I should note, if you work or are sick, or are a shut-in or have an emergency, or have a chronic illness, it should be obvious that these do NOT apply to you.

1.  I’m Tired

Me too. No, really.  You may think I only work one day a week and during church times, but really, I’m just as tired as you.  I have all the same places to be, all the deadlines, all the events, and extracurriculars.  I’m a parent, too, so I get it.  But really, being tired is what you’re going to go with?  Welcome to the world, we’re all tired. Do you call off work “tired?”  Probably not.

2.  I’m too Busy

Too busy, or busy with the wrong stuff?  See, when church becomes one of many priorities, it will inevitably become NO priority.  We’re all really busy…but see, that’s why God designed church – to come together in the midst of busyness and struggle and be together – to recharge and encourage…to love and be loved.  When you put it that way, it doesn’t seem too bad, does it?

3.  Sunday Nights and Wednesday Nights aren’t Commanded in the Bible

You’re absolutely correct…but keep reading.  When you place your membership at a congregation you are  saying that you will submit to the elders and thier leadership.  If you are at a place that has Sunday and Wednesday nights, it’s because the leadership sees it as an opportunity to grow together.  By using this card, you’re actually disobeying the eldership and according to Scripture…that’s not good. It’s actually doing the “bare minimum” and here’s what Jesus has to say about that:

For if you love those who love you, what reward do you have? Do not even the tax collectors do the same? 47 And if you greet only your brothers,what more are you doing than others? Do not even the Gentiles do the same? (Matt. 5:46-47, ESV)

Jesus doesn’t want us to do the “bare minimum” but rather to go above and beyond.  Sometimes that requires that we put on our adult jeans, tighten our belt, and go with it.

5.  My Kids Have Sports

Good.  I thouroughly believe in healthy competition.  However, I see so many families say things like, “I just don’t feel connected” or “We’re not sure we fit there anymore” and when you look for the root cause:  too much emphasis on kids sports.  I honestly love that your kids play sports…but when you begin to sacrifice them on the altar of “vicarious living through them” or “they HAVE to get a scholarship,” then what are you really saying?  You’d rather sacrifice your kids for success in this world than help them to live with the Kingdom of God in mind?

6.  I Don’t Like What We Do On Those Evenings

Again, you are a member of the church.  We’re all in this together. Also, by choosing to not be part of whatever it is that’s going on, you are deliberatley rebelling against the Elders who have been appointed by the Holy Spirit (Acts 20) to shepherd your heart and life towards Christ. Also, this is just a plain bad attitude.  It is one we’re all guilty of, but most of us never repent of.

Romans 12:9-13 says:

Let love be genuine. Abhor what is evil; hold fast to what is good. 10 Love one another with brotherly affection. Outdo one another in showing honor. 11 Do not be slothful in zeal, be fervent in spirit, serve the Lord. 12 Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer. 13 Contribute to the needs of the saints and seek to show hospitality.

Philippians says this 2:3:

 Do nothing from selfish ambition or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves.

All of these can be summed up in this last reason…I don’t_________.

What if, instead of filling in the blank with? don’t like, don’t want to, don’t care, don’t need…what if we filled it in with “I don’t want to be selfish.” or “I don’t want it to be about me” or “I don’t want to NOT see my brothers and sisters?”

I pray you won’t be guilty of using these excuses, but if you are – know that God still loves you and so do I.  Let’s go forward from here in Christ!

 

Leave a Reply

